Middle school scholar leaders honored


MANCHESTER — A number of area middle school students were recognized last month by the Vermont Association for Middle Level Education and the New England League of Middle Schools, at their 20th annual Scholar Leader Awards Banquet at Norwich University in Northfield.

Awards were presented on June 7 by VAMLE president Betsy Memoe, a guidance counselor at Manchester Elementary Middle School, and VAMLE board member Wayne Bell, a teacher at Mount Anthony Union Middle School and vice chairman of the Manchester Select Board.

The Scholar Leader Program is intended to give public recognition to students between fifth and eighth grade in Vermont who distinguished themselves in scholarship and leadership. The selection of these students was the responsibility of each school. The Selection Criteria is based on the standards outlined in the "Vital Results" and "Fields of Knowledge" sections of the VT Frameworks and Standards and Learning Opportunities. This typically includes qualities such as: teamwork, dependability, personal goals, positive interactions with others, productivity, respect for diversity, respect, and service to others.

Honored local students included Aneesh Kamath and Zoe Palisano of Mount Anthony Union Middle School; Lexi Lacoste and Alair Powers of Manchester Elementary-Middle School; Audrianna Ennis and Lewis Whalen of Arlington Memorial Middle/High School; and Emma Luikart and Benjamin Spiro of Long Trail School in Dorset.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions