Riverwalk names new board members


MANCHESTER >> The Manchester Riverwalk Association has announced the appointment of three new board members to the group's governing body, as well as the election of a slate of officers for 2016. Joining the Board of Trustees are Joanie Burns, Dick Smith, and Jen Weinstein.

"Each of these new board members has been involved with the Riverwalk Association since its inception, and each has displayed a passion and commitment to our vision that will help us reach our goal sooner," said Bill Laberge, President of the Association.

Joan P. Burns moved to Manchester in 2012 from Rye, N.Y. She lived in Rye for the better part of 42 years, raising three girls. When her youngest went off to college, she came north. While in Rye, Joanie owned and operated a garden design and installation business, Down To Earth, Ltd. She has been designing and installing gardens for 18 years and continues to travel south for projects each spring and fall. She enjoys working with the Riverwalk committee members and feels The Riverwalk will be a very positive addition to this thriving, historic town that she now calls home.

Dick Smith has life long ties to Vermont. He is a Lehigh University engineer and has an MBA from Columbia University. Among other volunteer activities, he is member of the Shires Byway Committee, a former president of the Manchester Historical Society and a current Trustee of the Vermont Historical Society in Barre and Montpelier. In addition to authoring two books on the Revolutionary War in Bennington County, he hosts a history show on GNAT-TV. He resides in Manchester with his wife, Sharon.

Jennifer Weinstein is an attorney licensed to practice in the states of Vermont, New York, New Jersey, Florida, and within numerous federal jurisdictions including the United States Supreme Court. After briefly serving as the Executive Director of SVAC, Jen has resumed her role of assisting the Northshire community in many other ways. She was recently named to the Neighbor to Neighbor Board and is thrilled to accept a position on the Riverwalk Board.

The three new Board members join existing Board members Bill Laberge, President, Stephen Drunsic, Vice President, Margaret Donovan, Secretary, Cathy Stewart, Treasurer, Eileen Braheney, Emmy McCusker, and Alison Hill. The Officers of the Board serve a one-year term, while Trustees are elected for three-year terms. The Riverwalk Board of Trustees works hand in hand with the broader Manchester Riverwalk Committee, a volunteer group that meets monthly to help forward the organization's vision.

Learn more about the Manchester Riverwalk Association at http://www.manchesterriverwalk.org/.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions