Mettawee graduation held


WEST PAWLET >> The Mettawee Community School held its 6th Grade Graduation ceremony on Tuesday, June 7, in front of families, friends and faculty. Principal Brooke DeBonis recognized the overall achievements and character of the Class of 2016, as did UD #47 Board member Sean Russell and PTO member Brooke Hughes-Muse, who are each a parent of a 2016 graduate.

The following awards were announced during the evening's proceedings:

Annie McGuire Award - Bryana Vigil; Mark of Excellence - Destiny Arnold; Ruth Lewis Kirchner Award (Rupert) - Grace Porter; Irene Hanfield Award (Pawlet) - Willow Hughes-Muse; American Legion Post #323 Citizen of Distinction - Taylor Amaral; Eugene Clark Memorial Award - Ashton Towsley

Music teacher Lisa Hoyt announced awards for participation in band or chorus, or both:

Taylor Amaral, Destiny Arnold, Kassidy Brooks, Lily Cole, Lucy Farrell, Willow Hughes-Muse, Grace Porter, Rowan Russell, Emma Tifft and Bryana Vigil.

Principal DeBonis announced the Presidential Academic Fitness for Excellence Awards: Taylor Amaral, Destiny Arnold, Lily Cole, Lucy Farrell, Willow Hughes-Muse and Grace Porter.

The evening's ceremony included the graduates singing Count On Me by Bruno Mars and handing out messages and flowers to their family members.

The ceremony concluded with UD #47 Board Chair Cori Rail handing out the Certificates of Completion to the Class of 2016 as Principal DeBonis read out the names of the graduates:

Taylor Vy Amaral, Destiny N. Arnold, Devin Bice, Kassidy Brooks, Lily Alva Cole, Lucy Willa Tyler Farrell, Willow M. Hughes-Muse, Tristan Hyatt, Lucas J.N. Mattison, Carter McFarren, Grace Gabriella Porter, Dylan Michael Ricard, Rowan B. Russell, Shawn Michael Sparks, Emma Theresa Lewis Tifft, Ashton J. Towsley and Bryana J. Vigil.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions