Arlington voters elect new school board member

ARLINGTON - The Arlington School District held a special meeting Tuesday, May 6, to vote for a school director to fill the remainder of a two-year term.

According to the official school district results, Glen R. Gross won the seat by a one-vote margin over Gerald Woodard. Gross received 79 votes to Woodard's 78. Gary Harrington received 12 votes. Two of the total 171 ballots were listed as "spoiled."

The race featured a mix of familiar and new faces, with former Arlington selectman and school board member Gerry Woodard, former Sandgate select board member and former Bennington Rural Fire Department captain Gary Harrington, and Rochester Polytechnic Institute professor Glen Gross throwing their hats in the ring.

This March saw four open seats on the five-member board, with Dawn Hoyt the only returning member. Selectman K. John Smith ran unopposed for an open three-year seat, Nicol Whalen ran unoppossed to finish the remaining two years on a three-year term, and Kevin Smith was elected over Gross and Denise Elwell for a two-year seat. However, no one ran for the fourth vacant seat, which the board decided to fill through election, rather than appointment. Gross, currently a professor at RPI as well as an associate director of the Archer Center for Student Leadership Development at the college, ran against Kevin Smith in the March's election, but was defeated. He has experience as both a teacher and an administrator at the college level. Gross regularly attends school board meetings, is the father of three children, and has lived in Arlington for seven years.

Harrington has run for select board in Arlington in the past, as well as serving on the Sandgate select board. During his time with the Bennington Rural Fire Department, Harrington rose to the rank of captain, and functioned as the department's secretary and treasurer for years. Harrington has also served as a deputy with the Bennington County Sheriff's Department, and has worked as a part-time officer for the Manchester, Bennington, and Winhall police departments. Harrington ran for Arlington select board in 2011, but was defeated by Norman Mattison.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions