Click photo to enlarge
MAU's Bridget Ahearn maneuvers through the CVU defense during the team's semifinal win. Ahearn was one of three Patriots to earn first-team all-state recognition.

BENNINGTON >> After winning their first Division I title since 2010 and the second in program history, the honors and accolades are coming in for the Mount Anthony girls lacrosse team.

Three players were named to the first-team all-state squad, senior midfielder Bridget Ahearn and senior defender Claire Taub, along with senior attacker Emily Altland.

The only other schools to match that number of first-teamers were Mount Mansfield, CVU, and Middlebury.

Mount Anthony finished the year at 16-2, the second-most victories in a season in school history.

Burr and Burton also had a pair of first-team all stars after a year where the Bulldogs went 10-7 and reached the Division I quarterfinal. Senior midfielder Aggie Bisselle and junior midfielder Jessie Forstmann earned the honors.

The local schools were well-represented in the second team and honorable mentions as well. Three more Mount Anthony players were recognized on the second team — junior attack Brianna Zipprich, junior midfielder Hayley Richmond and junior goalkeeper Carly Plaisance. BBA's second teamers were junior defender Hannah Herbert and sophomore attack Shayla Heekin.

MAU's honorable mentions were senior attack Annie Peck and freshman defender Sam White. For BBA, sophomore defenseman Bella Dworkin was honored.