MANCHESTER - Mark Tashjian, Headmaster of Burr and Burton Academy, and Paul W. Carroccio, President of the Alumni Association, recently announced this year's inductees into the Athletic Hall of Fame and the recipients of the Alumni Recognition Awards. The awards presentation is at 4:30 p.m. Saturday, Sept. 28, in the Riley Center.

The purpose of the Burr and Burton Athletic Hall of Fame is to recognize, honor and provide an enduring memorial for those alumni whose outstanding contributions have enriched the athletic programs and brought honor to the school.

The recipients are as follows: Female Athlete - Elizabeth "Bibit" Page Morgan '03 and Hayley Daden Van Der Kar '01, Coach - John Eckhardt (to be awarded posthumously) and Anne Blake, Friends of Athletics - Jim and John Hand, Legends - Alexander A. Zoesch '53 and Christopher H. Bryant '59, and Team Award - the 1958 Boys Basketball Team.

In addition to the Athletic Hall of Fame, three awards will be made for community service, personal achievement and to a distinguished faculty or staff member. This year's recipients are: Alumni Service Award for significant volunteer service to their community goes to Phil "Grub" '72 Bourn, the Alumni Achievement Award for outstanding contributions to their profession and community will be presented to Terry Badger '78, and the Distinguished Faculty/Staff Award to Mary Rita Manley, a recently retired, much-respected faculty member at Burr and Burton.

The awards ceremony is open to the public.