Trump stance on climate is a disqualifier

09/29/2016 02:26 PM EDT
One of the many deceits Donald Trump was caught in Monday night involved his stance on climate change, and it highlights a contrast between the two presidential candidates that can't be emphasized enough. 
Full Story
Trump isn't making case with minorities
09/29/2016 02:24 PM EDT - Given his history of bigoted remarks, Donald Trump has a chore ahead of him in persuading African-Americans to vote for him. He is making that job more difficult. At a town hall forum last week, the Republican presidential candidate endorsed the Full Story

LETTERS
Letter to the editor: Why you should vote for TJ Donovan as Attorney General

Why you should vote for TJ Donovan as Attorney General In the event that voters are asking, "Why should I vote for TJ Donovan?" I have some points that are worth a look. In 2004, I was convicted of a crime. Full Story
OP ED
Commentary: What's in a chip?

You remember back when in May of 1978 when two unknown guys named Ben & Jerry thought it might be a good idea to make and sell ice cream? And remember six short years later they decided they wanted to be more than just two guys selling ice cream so Full Story
COMMUNITY NEWS
Community Briefs

About 80 antiques dealers are expected to exhibit at Riley Rink this Sunday, Oct. 2, for Antiques in Vermont, the largest in the state's week of antique shows. The show has become the standard for small antiques: There will be 18th Century frames Full Story
MOST RECENT
Trump stance on climate is a disqualifier

09/29/2016 02:26 PM EDT
One of the many deceits Donald Trump was caught in Monday night involved his stance on climate change, and it highlights a contrast between the two presidential candidates that can't be emphasized enough. 
Full Story
Trump isn't making case with minorities
09/29/2016 02:24 PM EDT - Given his history of bigoted remarks, Donald Trump has a chore ahead of him in persuading African-Americans to vote for him. He is making that job more difficult. At a town hall forum last week, the Republican presidential candidate endorsed the Full Story

Our Opinion: Hillary Clinton is clear choice for US president
09/22/2016 05:15 PM EDT - The choice for president of the United States couldn't be more obvious in 2016. There is no reason to wait until November to make our endorsement of Democratic candidate Hillary Clinton in this critical election. Full Story

Our opinion: Wealthy families don't need a handout
09/01/2016 04:12 PM EDT - The cost of child care for low-income Americans is debilitating. For the middle class, it is a significant and escalating strain. For the wealthy, it's closer to a bother than a burden. Yet if a proposal by Donald Trump were to be put in place, it's Full Story

Our Opinion: Trump doesn't really want to be president
08/18/2016 02:12 PM EDT - If Donald Trump actually wants to serve the American people, which we doubt, he's doing it wrong. On Tuesday, while speaking at a rally in Wilmington, N.C., Trump said of Hillary Clinton: "If she gets to pick her judges, nothing you can do folks. Full Story

Letter from the Editor
08/03/2016 09:34 AM EDT - Full disclosure up front — this one's personal. Typically over the past 10 years we've tried to run commentary about local, state, national and occasionally international issues in this space, but this time, it will have to serve as a way of Full Story

Arts, crafts and entertainment
08/02/2016 03:44 PM EDT - We'd like to encourage the town's Planning Commission — which based on the conversation at its previous meeting last week clearly "got it" and seems on the same page as we are — to move forward with a greater emphasis on the role of the Full Story

(Photo by Richard Shotwell/Invision/AP, File)
Taylor Swift and Tom Hiddleston split up

Taylor Swift decides Tom Hiddleston isn’t the one after all and hands him his walking papers.