• Proposed Starbucks Makes Headway - 11/07/2014 05:25 PM EST
  • Hand Motors Under New Ownership - 11/19/2014 08:44 PM EST
  • Marines celebrate birth of Corps - 11/12/2014 10:13 PM EST
  • Proposed Starbucks Makes Headway - 11/10/2014 06:11 PM EST
  •  
    Our Opinion: Nonprofit Boards Can Be Toxic

    11/20/2014 03:37 PM EST
    Boards of trustees of Vermont nonprofit institutions are in the headlines of the Burlington Free Press, Rutland Herald and VTDigger — and for the wrong reasons — such as — "Burlington College Falters, Vermont AG Sorrell Sues Emerge 
    Full Story
    Meet You at the Library
    11/17/2014 12:57 PM EST - The opening of the Manchester Community Library last Saturday had the feeling of both a street fair and a historical moment. The large turnout of residents and visitors testified to the interest in the facility, what potential it contains, and marks Full Story

    LETTERS
    Strategic Planning

    To the Editor: After our best fall season in many years, the Chamber Board of Directors has made the decision to is beginning a Strategic Planning Process that will define the road map for our Chamber for the next 3-5 years. Full Story
    OP ED
    Tom Pelham: Don't Punish Vermont's Taxpayers

    We know it's not polite to say "We told you so", so let's get it over with. We told you so. For the past four years, Campaign for Vermont has sounded the alarm that annual state spending growth in the four to six percent range is out-of-balance with Full Story
    COMMUNITY NEWS
    (Courtesy photo)
    Fisher to hold Community Read Along and Spaghetti Dinner

    ARLINGTON >> Fisher Elementary School will be hosting a Community Read Aloud and Spaghetti Dinner on Thursday, Nov. 13, beginning at 5 p.m. in the school's Mack Multi-purpose Room. The cost is $5 per person or $20 per family. Full Story
    MOST RECENT
    Our Opinion: Nonprofit Boards Can Be Toxic

    11/20/2014 03:37 PM EST
    Boards of trustees of Vermont nonprofit institutions are in the headlines of the Burlington Free Press, Rutland Herald and VTDigger — and for the wrong reasons — such as — "Burlington College Falters, Vermont AG Sorrell Sues Emerge 
    Full Story
    Meet You at the Library
    11/17/2014 12:57 PM EST - The opening of the Manchester Community Library last Saturday had the feeling of both a street fair and a historical moment. The large turnout of residents and visitors testified to the interest in the facility, what potential it contains, and marks Full Story

    On to the statehouse
    11/13/2014 10:24 AM EST - Locally, last week's elections provided a mix of the predictable with the less predictable. About the most predictable outcome was the re-election of State Senator Richard Sears, who's practically an institution in the statehouse. Full Story

    Our Opinion: Message Delivered
    11/14/2014 10:30 AM EST - Every election always seems to contain its share of surprises. But few voters, pundits or analysts could have anticipated the big one in store last week for Vermont and its political landscape — the near-miss scored by Republican challenger Full Story

    Our Opinion: Our New look
    11/10/2014 11:34 AM EST - We were so busy last week learning about and implementing an entirely new system through which we will be producing your weekly Manchester Journal that we didn't have the time, space or energy to make editorial note of the "new look" of the Full Story

    Our Opinion: Property Taxes Should Top the Legislative Agenda
    11/10/2014 11:32 AM EST - If voters sent one message to Montpelier this election year, it's that it's time to address — meaningfully — the relationship between education spending and property taxes. This is hardly new news, or some kind of bolt from the blue. Full Story

    Our Opinion: Local endorsements
    10/29/2014 10:12 PM EDT - States Attorney Usually this race doesn't attract much attention, but this year a contest between two Manchester residents, incumbent Erica Marthage and challenger Kevin Rambold, seems to have attracted more than the usual level of interest. Full Story

    (John Minchillo/AP)
    Joey Chestnut devours turkey to win eating contest

    MASHANTUCKET, Conn. (AP) — Competitive eater Joey Chestnut has won a turkey-eating contest in Connecticut, setting a record by devouring an entire bird. Full Story
    (Jordan Strauss/Jordan Strauss/Invision/AP)
    One Direction wins artist of the year at AMAs

    One Direction has won the American Music Award for artist of the year. Competition in the category was tough, with Iggy Azalea, Beyoncé, Luke Bryan, Eminem, Imagine Dragons, John Legend, Lorde, Katy Perry and Pharrell Williams up for the honor. Full Story