• Season of Plenty, Season of Want - 11/28/2014 12:10 PM EST
  •  
    Ann Ingerson: Your Watershed Group to the Rescue

    11/28/2014 12:28 PM EST
    Vermont's community-based watershed groups have worked hard to improve watershed health over several decades. Now they need your help to face two pressing water issues that demand sweeping action. 
    Full Story
    Our Opinion: Nonprofit Boards Can Be Toxic
    11/20/2014 03:37 PM EST - Boards of trustees of Vermont nonprofit institutions are in the headlines of the Burlington Free Press, Rutland Herald and VTDigger — and for the wrong reasons — such as — "Burlington College Falters, Vermont AG Sorrell Sues Emerge Full Story

    LETTERS
    Thanks for First Wednesdays

    To the Editor: Time Travel is possible in Manchester, with the help of the Manchester Community Library's First Wednesday programs. Last year we spent an evening in the Victorian age and, a few years ago, we visited a World War II POW camp in New Full Story
    OP ED
    Hayden Dublois: Welfare Worries - Vermont's Burdensome Benefits

    Welfare Worries: Vermont's Burdensome Benefits Among several of the crises that materialized at the Vermont Department of Children and Families (DCF) this year, one that didn't make headlines was our state's hidden welfare troubles, which no one Full Story
    COMMUNITY NEWS
    (Courtesy photo)
    Fisher to hold Community Read Along and Spaghetti Dinner

    ARLINGTON >> Fisher Elementary School will be hosting a Community Read Aloud and Spaghetti Dinner on Thursday, Nov. 13, beginning at 5 p.m. in the school's Mack Multi-purpose Room. The cost is $5 per person or $20 per family. Full Story
    MOST RECENT
    Ann Ingerson: Your Watershed Group to the Rescue

    11/28/2014 12:28 PM EST
    Vermont's community-based watershed groups have worked hard to improve watershed health over several decades. Now they need your help to face two pressing water issues that demand sweeping action. 
    Full Story
    Our Opinion: Nonprofit Boards Can Be Toxic
    11/20/2014 03:37 PM EST - Boards of trustees of Vermont nonprofit institutions are in the headlines of the Burlington Free Press, Rutland Herald and VTDigger — and for the wrong reasons — such as — "Burlington College Falters, Vermont AG Sorrell Sues Emerge Full Story

    Meet You at the Library
    11/17/2014 12:57 PM EST - The opening of the Manchester Community Library last Saturday had the feeling of both a street fair and a historical moment. The large turnout of residents and visitors testified to the interest in the facility, what potential it contains, and marks Full Story

    On to the statehouse
    11/13/2014 10:24 AM EST - Locally, last week's elections provided a mix of the predictable with the less predictable. About the most predictable outcome was the re-election of State Senator Richard Sears, who's practically an institution in the statehouse. Full Story

    Our Opinion: Message Delivered
    11/14/2014 10:30 AM EST - Every election always seems to contain its share of surprises. But few voters, pundits or analysts could have anticipated the big one in store last week for Vermont and its political landscape — the near-miss scored by Republican challenger Full Story

    Our Opinion: Our New look
    11/10/2014 11:34 AM EST - We were so busy last week learning about and implementing an entirely new system through which we will be producing your weekly Manchester Journal that we didn't have the time, space or energy to make editorial note of the "new look" of the Full Story

    Our Opinion: Property Taxes Should Top the Legislative Agenda
    11/10/2014 11:32 AM EST - If voters sent one message to Montpelier this election year, it's that it's time to address — meaningfully — the relationship between education spending and property taxes. This is hardly new news, or some kind of bolt from the blue. Full Story

    Police: Man tries to silence neighbor's loud dog

    PORTSMOUTH, N.H. (AP) — New Hampshire police say a man who tried to silence his neighbor's barking dog ended up getting bitten and arrested. Full Story