PAWLET - The Pawlet Scholarship Committee has announced the names of this year's Pawlet Scholarship recipients. Scholarships are awarded based on achievement, character, need, and the reasonableness of the recipient's plan. Scholarships are not limited to academic colleges.

The 2013 scholars and the subjects they will be studying are: Ry Beverage, fine art; Corrine Brown, psychology; Mitchell Brown, engineering; Colleen Fiore, French; Nicholas Kashner, business; Joseph Lea, mathematics; Sarah Maness, architecture; Rich Marantz, nursing; Kayla Moore, education; Megan Moore, communication; Ronda Morse, nursing; Giulia Rosenthal, agriculture; Logan Seamons, sports training; Skyla Seamons, journalism; Amy Smith, nuclear medicine; Ben Smith, marine biology; Carrie Ann Smith, elementary education; Nathaniel Smith, business. This year, the fund has been able to award 18 scholarships totaling $34,000. Since its inception in 1995, the fund has awarded 223 scholarships totaling more than $355,000.